The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006, including the following from the Leroy club!


Bruce Baker
Lynne Belluscio
Jim Ellison
David Grayson
Tony Gugino
Martha Bailey
Bob Bennett
Bob Boyce
Larry Boylan
Tracy Ford
Scott McCumiskey
Tim Moag
Randy Vink
Carol Wolfe
Bob Carlsen
Christine Gephart
Tom McGinnis
Marcia McKenzie
Phil Plossl
Bob Sullivan
Sam Vagg